jump to navigation

JSF, Float, and f:convertNumber February 16, 2010

Posted by Phill in Frameworks, Presentation Layer.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’ve been having some fun issues with JSF and converting Float issues. Essentially the problem occured when converting a primitive float type to a java.lang.Float type in my value object (I was trying to updating a float value from an inputText field). I kept getting errors like:

java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: argument type mismatch

Anyway, I found an answer which seems to work, but rather than post it directly here I’ll simply link to the original question on StackOverflow (in case someone posts a better answer subsequently!).

These kind of issues are one of the many reasons why JSF has gone down in my estimation… it’s not a bad framework, it just seems to make what should be simple things massively complicated! That said, JSF 2.0 looks good, so maybe it will solve these kind of issues.

Comments

1. Sebastian - September 9, 2011

Well JSF 2 has also small issues. If you know how to workround them, its fine.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

